Add Photos During your Ride

  • Updated

Riding through a spectacular mountain range? Rolling through picturesque farm roads? Any photos snapped while recording with our app can optionally be saved to your ride. This is an excellent way to tell the story of a bike tour, share details about a ride, or simply celebrate a casual spin to your favorite coffee shop with friends.



The app will automatically identify photos taken along your ride for optional upload when you save your activity, and if added, will drop these along your ride line in the location they were taken.

Set Mobile Photo Permissions

  • In order to add photos to your rides via the app, you'll need to allow access to your photos in the app's permission settings.
  • For Android devices, you can generally find these permissions by tapping your phone's Settings app > scroll to Apps > Ride with GPS > Permissions > Photos and Videos > Allow.
  • For iPhone devices, Private Access is the only option. When adding photos at the end of a ride recording, the app will show your photo library, however, Ride with GPS will only access the photos you select.

Take Photos During your Ride

Use your preferred camera app to take photos while recording a ride. Photos will be geotagged and available for upload when you finish and save your ride. 

Upload Photos in iPhone App

At the End of a Ride

  • When you are done with your ride, long press the pause button, and tap Finish Ride. Enter your ride details and then tap the "+" in the box under Photos

iPhone add photo.png

  • Tap on photos to select them. Selected photos will be indicated by a blue checkmark.
  • Tap Add  in the upper right corner to exit the photo selection menu.
  • Tap Save to finish saving your ride and you will see a pop up indicating photo upload progress. Keep the app open until your photos have fully uploaded. 
iPhone photo selection.png

Upload Photos in Android App

At the End of a Ride

  • When you are done with your ride, long press the pause button, and tap Finish Ride. Enter your ride details and tap Add Photos to open the photo selector.

android add photos.png

  • The app will separate photos taken during the ride duration from your overall photo gallery for easy selection.
  • Tap on photos to select them. Selected photos will be indicated by a blue checkmark.
  • Tap DONE  in the upper right corner to exit the photo selection menu.
  • Tap Save to finish saving your ride and you will see a pop up indicating photo upload progress. Keep the app open until your photos have fully uploaded. 
android DONE.png

Add Photos to a Previously Saved Ride

If you forgot to add a photo at the time of save, or if you recorded an activity on a GPS computer and want to photos, you can easily add photos to a saved ride following the steps below: 

  • Tap to select a ride from your Ride Library.
  • Tap the 3 dot menu icon in the upper right corner >  tap Edit Details.
  • In the edit details screen, tap Add Photos to open the photo selector.
  • Tap on photos to select. Selected photos will be indicated by a blue checkmark.
  • Tap Add (or Done on Android) in the upper right corner.
  • Tap Save to finalize your photo upload.

View and Share Photos in the App

  • To view your saved photos, tap on a Ride containing photos. You'll see thumbnails of your photos displayed just below the map view.
  • Tap on photos to expand to full size, scroll left to right to view all photos.
In the expanded photo view, you can tap the share icon in the lower left corner to share your photo via Messaging, Email, and various other apps.

In-App Photo Settings

More photo settings are found in the app: 
  1. Tap the Settings icon in the upper left corner of the app home screen.
  2. Tap Logging > scroll to the Photos section.

 

  • Automatically Find Photos: automatically ask you to add any photos taken with your device’s camera or another app when you tap Finish Ride.  
  • Only Upload Over WiFi: Photos will only upload over WiFi to help you avoid slow uploads and cell data overage charges. 
  • Upload Size: Determines the photo quality and size of the upload. The app defaults to HIGH. Note: Uploading full-sized photos will use more network data. You'll likely want to use Only Upload Over WiFi with the High setting selected.

Add Photos While Live Logging

Premium and Basic subscribers can automatically upload any photos, real time, that are taken while you Live Log. Photos uploaded during a live log session will be geotagged at the location where you took the photo. 
To enable Live Photo Synching tap the Settings cog icon in the upper right corner > Live Logging > toggle on the Live Photo Syncing option.
This setting will use your cellular network connection to upload each picture as you Live Log. Turn this feature off if you do not want to use any network data during your ride. Note: If you enable this option, this will upload photos while Live Logging even if you have Only Upload Over Wi­Fi enabled.

Delete Photos

Oops, didn't mean to add that photo? You can easily remove a photo from your ride by opening your ride > tap your photo to expand it > tap the trash can icon in the lower right corner to fully remove the photo from your ride. 

 

FAQ

  • On iPhone, every time I leave the app the photo uploads don't finish, why not?
    • Keep the app open until the photo uploads finish.
  • Is there a limit the to the number of photos I can upload per ride?
    • There is no limit for the number of photos per ride. We recommend connecting to a Wifi network before uploading to save data usage.
  • How do I hide photos on my ride that I don't want to share?
    • Ride photos share the same privacy setting as the ride they were added to. Change the privacy of your ride to either Friends Only or Private to keep your photos from the public.